School counselor statistics show a wide gap between the national staffing level and the American School Counselor Association’s recommended maximum. In 2024–2025, the United States had 372 students for every school counselor, compared with ASCA’s recommended maximum of 250. State ratios ranged from 172 students per counselor in Vermont to 570 in Arizona.
Contents
- National access and the recommended benchmark
- States with fewer than 350 students per counselor
- States with 350 to 449 students per counselor
- States with 450 or more students per counselor
- Employment and projected outlook
- Pay measures for counselors and advisors
National access and the recommended benchmark
The national student-to-school-counselor ratio was 372 students for every school counselor in the 2024–2025 school year. The American School Counselor Association recommends a maximum of 250 students per school counselor, a recommendation in effect during 2024–2025. The national ratio therefore describes a staffing level above that benchmark.
ASCA also reports that about 17% of U.S. high schools did not have a school counselor. That represented approximately 643,700 students, or 4% of all students. The high-school access figure is reported on ASCA’s School Counselor Roles & Ratios page, which cites the U.S. Department of Education Civil Rights Data Collection but does not state the collection year. It should therefore be read with that measurement-date limitation in mind.
The national ratio and the access statistic answer different questions. A ratio describes the number of students assigned per counselor across the reported system. The high-school access measure describes whether a school reported having a counselor. A state or district can have a ratio near the national figure while still having schools with no counselor, depending on how staffing is distributed.
The ratio table comes from ASCA’s Student-to-School-Counselor Ratio 2024–2025, based on the U.S. Department of Education National Center for Education Statistics Common Core of Data, State Nonfiscal Public Elementary/Secondary Education Survey, 2024–25 v.1a.
| Measure | Value | Period or qualification |
|---|---|---|
| U.S. students per school counselor | 372 | 2024–2025 |
| ASCA recommended maximum | 250 | Recommendation in effect in 2024–2025 |
| U.S. high schools without a counselor | About 17% | Year not stated on ASCA page |
| Students represented by those high schools | Approximately 643,700 | Same access statistic |
| Share of all students represented | 4% | Same access statistic |
States with fewer than 350 students per counselor
Twenty-four states in the supplied 2024–2025 ratio table had fewer than 350 students per school counselor. The lowest reported ratios were in Vermont, with 172 students per counselor, and New Hampshire, with 186. Hawaii reported 243, while Colorado reported 247.
Other states in this group were Maine at 285, North Dakota at 282, Wyoming at 287, Montana at 288, New Jersey at 290, Missouri at 293, New York at 305, South Carolina at 307, Maryland at 309, and West Virginia at 309.
The remaining states below 350 were Connecticut at 313, Pennsylvania at 317, Delaware at 320, Oregon at 321, Kentucky at 322, Nebraska at 331, South Dakota at 336, Iowa at 340, and Massachusetts at 341. These are student-to-counselor ratios, not measures of counselor caseloads in a particular school or of time available for individual students.
ASCA’s recommended maximum is 250 students per counselor. In this group, Hawaii, Colorado, New Hampshire, and Vermont were below that maximum in the 2024–2025 table. The other reported state ratios in the group were above 250, even though they were below 350.
States with 350 to 449 students per counselor
The next group includes 20 states with ratios from 350 through 449 students per school counselor in 2024–2025. Arkansas was at 353 students per counselor, Oklahoma at 356, North Carolina at 360, Wisconsin at 362, Washington at 364, and Mississippi at 367.
Ratios in the upper part of the group included Ohio at 380, Georgia at 386, Rhode Island at 391, Idaho at 395, Texas at 397, Alabama at 401, New Mexico at 406, Kansas at 411, Alaska at 414, Louisiana at 423, Florida at 425, Tennessee at 429, California at 432, and Nevada at 437.
Every ratio in this group exceeded ASCA’s recommended maximum of 250 students per counselor. The comparison is useful because the national ratio of 372 sits inside this band: some states were below 372, while others were above it.
The table below highlights several reference points from the state data.
| State or benchmark | Students per counselor | Period |
|---|---|---|
| ASCA recommended maximum | 250 | Recommendation in effect in 2024–2025 |
| U.S. national ratio | 372 | 2024–2025 |
| Ohio | 380 | 2024–2025 |
| Texas | 397 | 2024–2025 |
| Florida | 425 | 2024–2025 |
| Nevada | 437 | 2024–2025 |
The state figures should not be treated as perfectly uniform observations. Tennessee’s displayed 2024–2025 row uses 2023–2024 counselor data because Tennessee did not report the counselor count. The table also notes that American Samoa did not report data.
States with 450 or more students per counselor
Six states reported ratios of at least 450 students per school counselor in the 2024–2025 ASCA table. Utah had 468 students per counselor, Indiana had 479, and Illinois had 486. Minnesota reported 539, Michigan reported 565, and Arizona reported 570.
Arizona’s ratio was the highest among the states listed in this group, while Utah’s was the lowest. Both were above the national ratio of 372 and more than the ASCA recommended maximum of 250. The figures describe reported state-level student-to-counselor ratios for 2024–2025; they do not by themselves show how counselors are allocated among elementary, middle, and high schools.
Across the three ratio groups, the reported state values span from Vermont’s 172 students per counselor to Arizona’s 570. That range describes variation in staffing ratios, not a direct ranking of counseling quality, student outcomes, or the duties assigned to counselors in each state.
Employment and projected outlook
Employment statistics use a broader occupational category than school counselors alone. The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics groups school counselors with educational, guidance, and career counselors and advisors. The BLS School and Career Counselors and Advisors: Occupational Outlook Handbook reported 376,300 jobs in this combined occupation in 2024.
BLS projects employment in the combined occupation to reach 389,600 jobs by 2034. That is a projected addition of 13,300 jobs between 2024 and 2034, and the occupation is projected to grow 4% over the same period. These are forecasts, not counts of jobs already filled.
The BLS also projects about 31,000 openings for school and career counselors and advisors each year on average from 2024 through 2034. Annual openings can include jobs created by employment growth as well as opportunities arising when workers leave the occupation, so the opening figure is not the same as the projected net increase of 13,300 jobs.
Because the BLS category includes educational, guidance, and career counselors and advisors, its employment, growth, and openings figures should not be relabeled as school-counselor-only totals. They provide a broader labor-market context for people considering counseling careers and for readers interpreting school counselor workforce statistics.
Pay measures for counselors and advisors
For the combined educational, guidance, and career counselor and advisor occupation, the BLS reported a median annual wage of $65,140 in May 2024. The median hourly wage was $31.32 during the same measurement period.
The annual wage distribution reported by BLS also shows a substantial spread. The lowest-paid 10% earned less than $43,580 annually, while the highest-paid 10% earned more than $105,870 annually in May 2024. These percentile figures describe the broader occupation and are not a salary schedule for every school counselor.
The median annual wage was higher for counselors and advisors employed by local elementary and secondary schools: $76,960 in May 2024. This industry-specific figure remains within the broader BLS occupational category, so it should be compared with the overall occupational median carefully rather than treated as a universal school counselor salary.
Taken together, the wage figures provide three distinct reference points: $65,140 for the overall occupational median, $76,960 for counselors and advisors in local elementary and secondary schools, and the broader lower and upper 10% thresholds of less than $43,580 and more than $105,870. Measurement period, occupation scope, and employer setting all matter when interpreting these amounts.